Authenticity Over Everything-Dedication to Prince (1958-2016)

“Don’t worry about being good…Aspire to be authentic.” Yann Martel 

Prince is a bona fide example of this inspirational quote. 

Yes , he was one of the best – selling artists of all time, with major hits such as Purple Rain, When Doves Cry, and Kiss. Yes , he was a multidisciplinary genius:  writing, singing, playing , and all with visual artistry and charisma. 

What I will remember most about Prince and what will live on infinity is the way he ‘walked the walk’ and stayed true to himself in not just his lyrics , but his actions and lifestyle. 

He touched upon topics such as sex, politics, drug abuse, poverty, and violence in his music and was never afraid to speak openly to the public on any topic. 

We all remember how he stole the show at the Grammys in one unscripted moment. 

 
His infinite wisdom will go on as we remember his thoughts on human development- 

 On loss: 

 On time: 

 He had an extraordinary number of fashionable moments to remember. These are just a few – 

    
   
I find it difficult to come up with one favorite Prince song. It might be ‘I Would Die 4 U’ or ‘I Want To Be Your Lover.’ 

However , for as long as I can remember I’ve been in search of the perfect magenta colored hat , so maybe my favorite is ‘Raspberry Beret.’ 

I did find one, by Christian Louboutin, but somehow I don’t see myself purchasing it at $1,245.00. 

 
I did create an outfit tonight in honor of the ‘Prince of Everything’ – hopefully he would have approved. I think he would like the handbag the best. For sure he would like the fact that it’s just a bunch of things I love that I  put together for fun, for no other reason then to enjoy the moment and not really caring about whether it’s ‘in fashion’ or appropriate.  

   
That’s what I mostly remember about Prince and what will stay with me when I listen to his music. The emotions evoked come from an origin of pureness , creative authenticity. 

Thank you so much for your time and attention. It is truly appreciated. 

Hope you are inspired by the creative artistry of of Prince and that you will remember him fondly. 

Yours truly,

Jennifer

Xoxoxo 

 

19 thoughts on “Authenticity Over Everything-Dedication to Prince (1958-2016)

  1. Phenomenal post for a phenomenal artist. Love me some Prince. Saw Purple Rain when it came out at the theater. I was so in love with him then! He was truly one of a kind. Love your outfit, btw. I’m certain The Purple One would have approved. XO

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you SO much !!! It means a lot to me that you like it. I know how important music is to you and I agree – he is truly one of a kind. Thank you so much for the compliment!! I’m going to find the necklace for you tomorrow 💞💞💞💞😘

      Like

  2. Loved this dedication to Prince!, Like Michael Jackson, he was a huge influence in my childhood and I loved him! Whenever one of these iconic stars pass, I feel as though a little piece of my childhood has been taken away with it.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

