Valentine’s Day Inspiration Part 2: Let’s Just Stay In 

Those of you that read my last post , “Valentine’s Day Inspiration: Sequins and Sweets” know that it was all about that amazing burgundy sequin dress from http://like2b.uy/shoppinkblush and going out on the town. I also included a whole lot of recipes for some very sweet treats. I wrote about how my dad took me to the Biltmore Hotel in Providence, RI for the photo shoot because we really wanted a special place for such an amazing dress.

That day I also brought  along one of my favorite finds from thredup.com. I find a lot of the cocktail dresses I collect there and love to style them in different ways. I wear them everywhere, even to teach kindergarten,which I know many of you know.

I kept this Express brand dress more on the casual side with tights, casual boots, and a fun cap which I also happened to find at thredup.com. I found the choker recently at target.com.



It’s not surprising, I’m sure, since I wear dressed down cocktail dresses to teach kindergarten, that I would share this outfit and now suggest a stay at home Valentine’s Evening.

So here I go.

Get dressed up and plan a special dinner for two. These recipes are all black- tie worthy but do not require lots of time in the actual kitchen. They all include  a whole bunch of shortcuts, an excellent variety of healthy ingredients and still taste like they were made from scratch.

Black – Tie Worthy Dinner for Two

Start with:

Roasted Portobello Crostini

http://www.food.com/recipe/roasted-portabella-crostini-302072


Next serve:

Angel Hair with Spicy Clam Sauce

http://www.bettycrocker.com/recipes/linguine-with-red-clam-sauce/a87840ed-7185-46fa-9199-42778bf72e18


Main Course:

Blue Cheese-Crusted Filet Mignon

http://allrecipes.com/recipe/72267/blue-cheese-crusted-filet-mignon-with-port-wine-sauce/


Roasted Potatoes of Provence

http://www.simplyrecipes.com/recipes/provencal_new_potatoes/


Grilled Vegetables with Saffron Rice

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/sandra-lee/grilled-vegetables-with-saffron-rice-recipe


Desserts and Drinks

Bow-Tie Cookies

http://m.foodideasrecipes.com/stores/bow-tie-macarons-1394088740,9723.html/598

Chocolate Valentine’s Day Pear Dessert

 


Cocktail Suggestions

27 Simple and Sexy Cocktails for Valentine’s Day

The Cloud Nine


Left to right/ top to bottom:

Ms.Monroe,Valley of the Flowers, French Kiss, Peppermint Truffletini


Thank you so much for visiting my blog today. I hope you enjoyed this quick little Valentine’s Day Part 2 post and hope you found it worthwhile.

I would love to hear from you so feel free to leave a comment and drop a link if you have something to share. I respond to everyone in a timely fashion.

Yours truly,

Jennifer

Xoxo

Ps.


99 thoughts on “Valentine’s Day Inspiration Part 2: Let’s Just Stay In 

  1. I’m definitely going to come back for the grilled vegetables with saffron rice recipe. Seriously I need to get better at cooking! Loving that casual and classy dress 🙂

    Like

  2. I love how you’re always changing things up and making your blog more beautiful Jenny! The black and white photos are so classy and you look absolutely stunning! Sequins really jazz up any outfit. I love all your black tie recipes, esp the fillet mignon and the macaroons!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jen! I am so jealous of your body figure! You look amazing and so sexy. DO you work out or do anything? I can’t believe you have kids. You can pass for a teenager! dying over your gorgeousness!

    and that pasta is so gonna be in my dinner table tomorrow!
    xxxx
    thenewgirl

    Like

Leave a comment